2024 Coin Toss

The coin toss for the 74th Colours Boat Races took place in front of the Dining Hall on the Front Square of Trinity College on Sunday March 10th 2024, officiated by Ryan Baird.

Ryan, a current student and Trinity Sport Scholar at Trinity College Dublin studying Computer Science and Business, is a professional rugby player with Leinster Rugby and the Irish Men’s Rugby Team. Playing as a lock or flanker, he has 19 international caps including 4 in Ireland’s 2023 Grand Slam Six Nations Championship and 2 in the 2023 Rugby World Cup.


UCDLBC Captain Sarah Daly called tails with the coin coming up heads for Trinity. DULBC Captain Sophia Mulvihill called for the North Station.

UCDBC Captain Paul Flood called tails with the coin, again, coming up heads for Trinity. DUBC Captain Alfie Hales also called for the North Station.

Trinity will race on the North Station for the Sally Moorhead Cup, the Dan Quinn Shield, the Corcoran Cup and the Gannon Cup.

UCD will race on the South Station for all four races.


The 74th edition of the Colours Boat Races will take place on Saturday 30th March 2024. The Trinity and UCD Boat Clubs will race through the centre of Dublin, upstream from O’Connell Bridge to St. James Gate. Novice Men’s crews will compete for the Dan Quinn Shield, with Novice Women’s Crews competing for the Sally Moorhead Cup. At the Senior level, Men’s crews will compete for the Gannon Cup and Women’s crews will compete for the Corcoran Cup.

Our thanks to Ryan Baird for officiating.